Road Races

With spring around the corner, I have been thinking about hitting the running trails, which for me are the gravel and dirt roads in rural Fillmore County Nebraska.  Last September I ran the Omaha Half Marathon, which was my first competitive race since high school.  After the race I asked myself why I went 5 years of my life (college) without racing!  It was a great experience, and it felt so good to be in the best shape of my life.  I followed a very basic novice training plan from Hall Higdon, which I found on http://www.halhigdon.com/halfmarathon/novice.htm.  It was a great training program for a first time Half Marathon runner, and I would recommend it to anyone who is running a half marathon for the first time. 

Last year, I did not run any road races to help prepare me for race day; however, this summer, I would like to run several road races.  There are road races all across Nebraska, which can be found on the following webpage: http://www.runningintheusa.com/race/List.aspx?State=NE.  Running road races is a great way to get in race shape for a half or a whole marathon.  So many people don’t understand why runners, run.  To that question, I have the following response: 

1) Relieve Stress

2) Physically condition your heart and lungs

3) Health Benefits-Studies have shown the health benefits of running to be enormous, reducing the likelihood of everything from the common cold to cancer. Your stamina will increase. You’ll lose weight.

4) Many say they are at their most creative and lucid, even meditative, during their runs, as the worries of the day slip away. Confidence increases as you push your own limits, meeting goals and often surprising yourself by exceeding your own expectations. Running is a sport of discipline, sometimes of sacrifice, and always of self-reliance.

Because of these reasons, I have decided that as long as I am able to, I will run!  Speaking of runs, how about the run the Nebraska men’s basketball is making?  Regardless of how the season ends, it has been great to see a well coached team who nobody expected to be on the NCAA bubble with four games remaining, playing with confidence. There is a lot of Nebrasketball energy in the state of Nebraska right now.  GO BIG RED.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

